My Life According to Me

This blog is about the happenings in my world.

Respect the Spindle June 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessie @ 8:12 PM

I am now the proud owner of the most wonderful DVD. Respect the Spindle the Video is a treasure trove of spindle spinning information. The DVD compliments the Respect the Spindle book by Abby Franquemont. This instructional DVD is extremely well done.

Abby does a wonderful job explaining all aspects of spinning. Starting with the technical side of spinning and the fiber. She talks about making a spindle out of anything. She also demonstrates many techniques to help you get the most out of your spindle. After watching the DVD once all the way through, I feel more confident that I will be able to actually spin yarn.

What I learned, is that when I was first starting to spin my approach was wrong. I was drafting the fiber and then spinning the spindle. Resulting in the following:

Fairly lumpy inconsistent yarn. The way Abby explains spinning and watching her spin is so helpful. The way she explained the park and draft method of spinning made everything click for me. She described it as collecting twists and then parking the spindle and letting the twist travel up the fiber while drafting it. It made so much more sense the way she explained it, I had to go and apply what I learned.

I was able to get a little more consistency and a thinner single. The DVD was worth every penny! I am so glad that I bought Respect the Spindle. Another thing about the DVD that I like is that Abby talks a little bit about the history of spinning and drop spindles. Abby says that if you practice a little each day, about 30 mins or so, after a few weeks you will get to where you can do the drafting as the spindle is spinning.

I am now more excited about spinning. At first I was feeling like I was never going to be able to spin. After watching the DVD I have more spinning confidence, and am ready to really take on the challenge!

 

Leave a Reply

